California: The Road to Legalization
In November 2016, nine states had cannabis initiatives on their statewide voting ballots. In eight of those states, voters approved the initiatives into law. And in four of those states, cannabis was legalized recreationally.
Maine became the first state of the four to push legalization into effect as of January 30, 2017. Although state lawmakers postponed retail sales of cannabis products and only allow residents to grow, own and use it, as of now. Then came Nevada on July 1, 2017. And if you recall, retail sales have been booming in the state since then.
Next up? California, a state that is preparing to become the largest legal marijuana marketplace in the U.S. Just 45 days prior to legalization which took place on January 1, state legislators released rules and regulations. Now the floodgates are officially open and here's just a few of the changes legalization has had on purchasers, growers and retailers alike.
Lawmakers are calling recreational cannabis that can be purchased by residents who are 21 years and older - “adult-use”, while current medicinal patients will still have access to “medicinal-grade” THC cannabis products, in most cases. Edible products will be seeing a decrease in potency across both adult-use and medicinal products. Soon dispensaries will only be able to stock 100MG product packages with serving size recommendations of 10MG, a stark difference to edible inventory of the current medicinal market.
Limits have also been set on daily purchases, from a single retailer that is. Adult-use patients will be limited to one ounce of non-concentrated cannabis, eight grams of concentrate and up to six immature plants. While medicinal patients will be able to purchase up to eight ounces or the amount designated on the doctor’s recommendation.
State licenses will be distributed based on the size of the farm, but growers will also need to seek local permitting.
Retailers are subject to the operating hour of 6AM to 10PM with deliveries available during the same hours. Storefronts must be at least 600 feet away from any school and no window displays are allowed.